Home    |   Community Service    |   Join Scouting    |   Contact Us

2013 American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year Award

The American Legion Department of Nebraska has begun its search for the "2013 Eagle Scout of the Year" recipient.

The top three finalists in Nebraska receive cash awards valued at $500, $300, and $200. The state winner is automatically entered in the national competition where he will have an opportunity to earn a scholarship award of $10,000. Three-second place scholarship awards of $2,500 will also be awarded at the national level.

Those desiring to apply must be an Eagle Scout who is at least 15 years of age by April 1, 2012, and still enrolled in high school at the time. Interested individuals must also be a registered, active member of a Boy Scout Troop, Varsity Scout Team, or Explorer Post or be the son or grandson of a Legionnaire or Auxiliary member. The candidate must also be an active member of his religious institution, and must have received the appropriate Boy Scout religious emblem.

All nomination forms must be endorsed by the unit leader, and must be received at Department Headquarters no later than March 1, 2013.

Download Nomination Form 

Applications can be mailed to:
The American Legion Department of Nebraska
P.O. Box 5205
Lincoln, NE 68505-0205

      Sign up for our Newsletter
Contact Webmaster  |  Powered By Wave Interactive