Home    |   Community Service    |   Join Scouting    |   Contact Us

The Founder's Award

OA Founder's AwardThe Founder's Award is the highest honor a lodge can bestow on a member. It is given to those members who display the dedication of the Order of the Arrow founders, Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Col. Carroll Edson. The lodge can give one award for every 500 members or fraction thereof. The following inscription on the award medallion describes the spirit of the award: "For he who serves his fellows is, of all his fellows, greatest."

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder's Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she memorializes in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The Award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Also available is a special Founder's Award arrow ribbon, with a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

1982   Douglas R. Aupperle and A.C. "Butch" Bouvier
1983   Douglas N. Heller and H. Neal Sievers
1984   Nathan Hunt and J.J. Johnston
1985   Richard A. Anderson and Robert G. Moriarty
1986   Bruce Hietbrink and Donald L. Nagel
1987   Brian Grantham and Gene Spicka
1988   Douglas Lang, Stephen Becker, and Dennis Robinson'
1989   Lance Hardisty, Ron La Croix, Sr., Mark Rabick, and Ralph Violett
1990   Dwight Grantham, Donald Roden, and David W. Varney
1991   Daniel Boucher, Chad Hardisty, Hans Kelpe, Harold Meyer', and Ryan Robinson'
1992   Corey Campbell, C. David Hughes, and Richard L. Reeve
1993   Henry Rahlfs, Jr. and Lloyd Roitstein
1994   Sterling R. Franck and Chad Lorenz
1995   Lawrence F. Chandler, Jr., James Clarke, Jonathan Fast
1996   Mark E. Dreiling, Pegeen Fast, and Jay Graves
1997   Travis Brown, Craig Gochenour, Aaron Kreager, and Michael Mann
1998   Geoffrey Kline, Thomas Lima, David Markley, and Jeremy Robinson,
1999   David Niedergeses, Jake Robertson, and Joe Scherrer
2000   Mike Brown, Patrick Dowse, Dick Kreager, and Mike Scharibillig
2001   Chris Brooks, Brian Logeman, Tim Robertson, and James Wingert
2002   Drew Dougherty, D.J. Hubbard, Jim Kirby, and Rick Niedergeses
2003   Evan Lima, Brad Milacek, Jim Taylor, and Stephen Wilke
2004   Douglas Carlson, Arnold Martin, Josh Oehlerking, and Eric Svingen
2005   Joseph E. James, Wesley G. Kreun, Ben Nachman, and Rod Van Horn
2006   Marty Nachman, David Olsen, Jake Olsen, and Ross Olsen,
2007   Jacob Carlson, Frank Ibero, Evan Wilke, and John Yates
2008   Jim Jourdon, Lev Nachman, Justin Williams, and Randy Yates
2009   Drew Bonge, Spencer Cardwell, Seth Johnson, and Brandon Raddish
2010   Jordan Wyatt, Vince Cummings Jr., and Zack Sinsheimer

      Sign up for our Newsletter
Contact Webmaster  |  Powered By Wave Interactive