The James E. West Fellowship

This award is named after James E. West who was the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America. Dr. West exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson’s observation that “an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man.”  Scouting today is the “lengthened shadow” of more than three decades of the farseeing and dedicated leadership of Dr. James E. West. Those who are recognized by the James E. West Fellowship Award will cast their own “lengthened shadow” as they help ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young people and create the financial stability of the program for the Mid-America Council.

The James E. West Fellowship Award is a national recognition for individuals who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or marketable securities to the James E. West Foundation.  This gift must be in addition to and not replace or diminish the donor’s annual Investment in Character support. Many individuals and organizations make these gifts on behalf of someone else such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, Scoutmaster, Cubmaster, a retirement, a special accomplishment, or anniversary or in memory of a special individual. The James E. West Fellowship Award is recognized with a personalized certificate, a distinctive lapel pin and an exclusive knot for the uniform and are all presented at a special recognition program.

Bronze Fellowship – $2,500 gift
Silver Fellowship – $5,000 gift
Gold Fellowship –  $10,000 gift
Platinum Fellowship – $15,000 gift
Diamond Fellowship – $20,000 gift

Picture11910 SOCIETY
Ernest Thompson Seton – $25,000 gift
Daniel Carter Beard – $100,000 gift
Theodore Roosevelt – $500,000 gift
Waite Phillips – $1,000,000 gift


Bronze – $100,000 gift
Silver – $250,000 gift
Gold – $500,000 gift
Platinum – $1,000,000 gift


Application Links

James E. West Application
James E. West Society Brochure
Major Gifts Recognition